Wordly Wise

Musings of an infinite soul

Make me an instrument of your peace

with 2 comments

For 12 years, from Junior KG through class X, I said a prayer in my school, St. John the Baptist High School, Thane. Today, even after so many years, that prayer resonates within me…in fact I relate to it more than ever before. I grew up with this prayer…

Lord, make me an instrument of Thy peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

Amen.

(st. francis of assisi – 13th century)

I especially like the part “grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand; to be loved, as to love”. It frees me.

Written by Manoj Khatri

12 January 2007 at 12:18 am

Posted in Expressions

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. same us the wish of my parents who named me peace for their wish was peace ,and is still,and I hope it will be.
    my every day dream is to see peace among the two countries, my country Eritrea and Ethiopia and all over the world.
    and I still continue longing to see the two governers and the people of Eritrea and Ethiopia two sing this pray ”
    Lord, make me an instrument of Thy peace;
    where there is hatred, let me sow love;
    where there is injury, pardon;
    where there is doubt, faith;
    where there is despair, hope;
    where there is darkness, light;
    and where there is sadness, joy.”peac ebe to all of us who need to enjoy it!!!

    peace

    1 February 2007 at 4:16 pm

  2. This is my favorite prayer. I have a plaque on my kitchen wall with this prayer written on it. It’s the first thing people see when they come in. My favorite line is – Lord, make me an instrument of Thy Peace. Of all the things Christ taught us, I believe is summed up in one word – Peace. So that in Me you may have perfect peace. Peace be with you.


    Thanks Janet! It’s indeed a pleasure to find someone who I have never met/spoken to, from another part of the world, sharing similar values. May God Bless You!
    ~ww

    janetleigh

    14 August 2007 at 1:58 pm


Leave a Reply

