Wordly Wise

Musings of an infinite soul

Life longs for itself

with 2 comments

A few days back, I received a link to a new post of a fellow blogger Kartikeya Dwivedi. I clicked. I read. I smiled. I could sense genuine compassion for women in the writer’s heart. I found his concern for women endearing. But as I finished reading the post I remembered a few lines from Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet:

“Your children are not your children
They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself
They come through you but not from you,
And though they are with you yet they belong not to you.”

I think it beautifully explains the paradox of why women (most of them!) are happy at the prospect of bringing in a new soul into human form — why women happily accept the inevitable pain of pregnancy, childbirth and rearing.

I think nature has planted the right seeds at the right place. Children arrive not because we want them to. They arrive because of “life’s longing for itself”. Women are delighted at the prospect of conception, the “tribulations” notwithstanding, because it’s all part of the larger divine plan. That should explain the “inexplicable” joy of the conceiving woman and also the natural nurturing instincts of all women.

Written by Manoj Khatri

25 March 2007 at 9:42 am

Posted in Expressions

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I didn’t recognize the author but I had definitely read the quote and I agree. The views of Gibran’s go along the lines of a book I read recently about Karma. I do believe life constantly reinvents itself through us and genes with the reproductive urge are a great way it does so in animals, including us humans. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

    tuttysan

    2 July 2007 at 12:55 am

  2. You’re welcome Tuttysan. I went through your “I read” page and found many of my favourite books listed there…It’s always nice to meet someone who shares similar philosophies.
    Cheers!

    wordlywise

    2 July 2007 at 5:16 pm


Leave a Reply

