Wordly Wise

Musings of an infinite soul

SRK in KBC

leave a comment »

By chance, I happened to watch a bit of the last episode of Kaun Banega Crorepati’s third season (Shah Rukh Khan’s first). When I had first read that SRK would be hosting KBC, I was sceptical. I thought he would never be able to match up to Amitabh Bachchan’s charisma. After what I saw the other night, I confess that he’s proved me, and many others like me, wrong. In my defence, I still maintain that AB is matchless. But SRK has created his own benchmark. It’s best if AB and SRK not compared — to each other or to anyone else.

Three striking qualities about SRK set him apart from most other stars.

1. He’s an absolute charmer. He knows how to make you smile and endears you with his mannerisms, his sense of humour and his intelligence.
2. He works very hard, puts in his best in whatever he does.
3. He is full of raw energy, which is infectious. He lights up the screen with his liveliness…you can almost see energy oozing out from his every cell.

Pulling off a show like KBC, esp after the high standards that AB had set is no mean feat. Hats off SRK.

Written by Manoj Khatri

21 April 2007 at 8:39 am

Posted in Reviews

Leave a Reply

