Wordly Wise

Musings of an infinite soul

Poetry is the immortalisation of feelings

with 3 comments

I express my deepest, most intense feelings through my poetry. More than me writing poems, they get written. What’s more, once feelings are expressed in poems, they are there forever. Since they have been written down, they transcend time.We read so many poems that were written centuries ago by poets who are long dead. Yet, the feelings expressed in those poems are alive. For instance, even today, when I read “Daffodils” by William Wordsworth, I get transported into a different world, living close to nature, and experiencing bliss. What Wordsworth felt when he wrote that poem, I feel today. And so do millions of others who read it. Somehow, poetry captures feelings and freezes them in time. It would not be wrong to say then, that poetry is the immortalisation of feelings.

© Manoj Khatri

Written by Manoj Khatri

18 November 2007 at 12:40 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well expressed thought, Manoj! I am of the same mind.

    tomachfive

    18 November 2007 at 5:07 pm

  2. I agree, I cant seem to write poetry unless I am moved by what I feel. I cant make an exercise of it. Poetry does have a mind of its own. How it will turn out, I never know until I stop, which becomes the end.

    mysoul

    24 November 2007 at 11:13 am

  3. well stated

    qazse

    27 November 2007 at 12:49 pm


Leave a Reply

